Collage of the Week: Harlem Globetrotters

Earlier in the spring my family & I went to see the Harlem Globetrotters perform.  After growing up in the 1970s when the Globetrotters were so popular, I was excited to actually see them live.  I was also excited to find out that photography was allowed at the game/show, although I was sitting a bit too far away to get really good shots.  That still didn’t stop me from taking over 700 photos in the course of about 2 hours!

Even though I’m really not a sports fan at all, I totally get the appeal of sports photography.  It’s all about capturing those awesome moments and freezing motion – in the air, on the ground, whatever.  And there’s often a lot of color and great facial expressions so just a  wide variety of fun things to shoot.  You just have to have a really fast shutter and the ability to take a lot of photos quickly in succession.  I’m looking forward to seeing what great photos come out of the Summer Olympics in a week or so.

Leave a Reply

